http://bsumc.info/construction-schedule/

Homes of Hope Construction Schedule

News & Events

Last Advent, BSUMC was challenged to raise money to support Homes of Hope with building one of their affordable energy efficient homes. The church responded with overwhelming financial support and far exceeded the challenge.

Starting in November 2017, construction will begin on the home sponsored by Buncombe Street UMC. This home will be built at 202 N. Leach Street. We ALL get the awesome opportunity to help build this home along with the men from Homes of Hope. The work will be done over a course of eight weekends – you can volunteer in the construction of this home.

Construction schedule:

Friday, December 8 – Saturday, December 9: Exterior and Interior Wall framing / Sheathing

Friday, December 22: House wrap / Knee Walls / Fur out Gable ends / Hurricane straps / Windows and exterior doors

Friday, January 5 – Saturday, January 6, 2018: Rough-in Electrical / Vinyl Siding prep

Friday, January 2 – Saturday January, 13, 2018: Vinyl Siding

Saturday, January 27, 2018: Columns and handrails

Friday, February 2 – Saturday, February 3, 2018: Interior doors and trim / Trim out electrical / Cabinets / Start flooring and molding

Friday, February 9 – Saturday, February 10, 2018: Contingencies

Saturday, March 10, 2018: Family Landscape Day

There are openings for five to seven volunteers on each day, except for Family Landscape Day, which is open to approximately 20 people. Volunteers working on Fridays are scheduled to work from 9:00 AM until 3:00 PM, while on Saturdays, the work day is scheduled from 8:00 AM until 2:00 PM. One safety requirement is that volunteers are at least 16 years of age, except for the “Family Landscape Day” where kids under 16 are allowed on the site to help. All construction skill levels are welcome each weekend, including no previous experience at all.

Additionally, another way to get involved would be to sponsor a lunch. Volunteers are needed to sponsor a lunch each Saturday during the construction process.

If you or your Sunday school class are interested in volunteering, please contact Ryan Burnett. This should be a fun experience for everyone and a wonderful way to see how God is moving!